The Mississippi State Board of Architecture and The Landscape Architecture Committee
Skip Navigation
Main Page
license icon Architect
Exam Registration
Renew License
Reinstate License
Reciprocal License
license icon Landscape Architect
Renew License
Reinstate License
Reciprocal License
license icon Interior Designer
Application for Certification
Purchase Roster
Frequently Asked Questions
Info About Licenses
Glossary
Paying Online
Contact Us
The Mississippi State Board of Architecture Web Site

Frequently Asked Questions

Can't find the question?
Contact Us

 Info About Licenses 
 License Renewal
1.  When does my license expire?
2.  When does the online renewal period begin?
3.  What if I don't renew before the end of the Renewal Period with Penalty?
4.  What is my license number?
 Continuing Education
1.   Is the Continuing Education Program mandatory in Mississippi for license renewal?
 Corporate Practice
1.  Does Mississippi law allow non-resident architectural corporations to practice in the state?
2.  Does Mississippi law allow landscape architects to practice through business corporations?
3.  Can a landscape architect form a corporation with an architect?
4.  What corporate entities are allowed to offer architectural services in Mississippi?
5.  Does the Mississippi State Board of Architecture or Landscape Architecture Advisory Committee license firms as well as individuals?
 Reciprocal/Initial Registration
1.  How long does it take to process applications?
 General
1.  How do I receive a wallet card?
2. How do I update my personal data (i.e., new address, phone number, etc.)?
3.  When do the Board of Architecture and the Landscape Architecture Advisory Committee meet?
Arrow indicating current page

License Renewal  
1. When does my license expire?
  Architects - All architect licenses expire on November 30th of each odd year and must be renewed to enable the architect to continue to practice.

Landscape Architects - All landscape licenses expire on December 31st of each odd year and must be renewed to enable the landscape architect to continue to practice.
  Back to Top Back to Top
2. When does the online renewal period begin?
 
  License
Type
    Renewal Period     Renewal Period with Penalty     Reinstatement  
  Architect     October 1 through November 30 of each odd year     December 1 each odd year through November 30 of the next odd year. A $5.00 per month penalty will be charged for each month past November 30 of the year the license expires.     Architects must apply for reinstatement of his/her license if it is not renewed within 2 years of expiration (i.e. after November 30 of the next odd year after the license expires.)  
  Landscape Architect     October 1 through December 31 each odd year.     January 1 each odd year through June 1 of the year after license expiration. A $5.00 per month penalty will be charged for each month past December 31 of the year the license expires.     Landscape Architects must apply for reinstatement of his/her license after June 1 of the year after the license expired.  
  Back to Top Back to Top
3. What if I don't renew before the end of the Renewal Period with Penalty?
  Architects must apply for reinstatement if they do not renew within 2 years of the date of expiration. Landscape architects have until June of the year following the renewal due date year. Refer to the table listed in Question #2 for specific dates of the Renewal Period and Renewal Period with Penalty.

If a license is not renewed, practice is not allowed.
  Back to Top Back to Top
4. What is my license number?
  Your license number is the 4-digit registration number located on your Notice of Registration or Wall Certificate. If you cannot find your license number, access your record on our online "Roster of Registrants".
  Back to Top Back to Top
Continuing Education  
1. Is the Continuing Education Program mandatory in Mississippi for license renewal?
  Yes. As of the 2005 renewal period, 24 hours of HSW continuing education units are required as a condition for renewal. Refer to the rules for details. The rules can be found on the Board of Architecture's website.
  Back to Top Back to Top
Corporate Practice  
1. Does Mississippi law allow non-resident architectural corporations to practice in the state?
  No. Pursuant to Section 73-1-19 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, "No corporation other than a professional corporation shall advertise or otherwise hold itself out to be an architect or to be authorized to practice architecture in this state." This means you cannot offer or practice architecture through a business corporation.
  Back to Top Back to Top
2. Does Mississippi law allow landscape architects to practice through business corporations?
  Yes.
  Back to Top Back to Top
3. Can a landscape architect form a corporation with an architect?
  No, only architects and engineers can form corporations in Mississippi.
  Back to Top Back to Top
4. What corporate entities are allowed to offer architectural services in Mississippi?
  Professional corporations, professional associations, partnerships, professional limited liability companies and individuals (sole practitioners), as long as all active members, stockholders, officers and directors are licensed to practice architecture or engineering in the architect's state of residence.
  Back to Top Back to Top
5. Does the Mississippi State Board of Architecture or Landscape Architecture Advisory Committee license firms as well as individuals?
  This Board/Committee DOES NOT license corporations. Each individual must comply with the provisions of Section 73-1-19 of the Mississippi Code when establishing his/her practice in this State. HOWEVER, a foreign professional corporation MAY NOT transact business in this state until it obtains a Certificate of Authority from the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office. Go to www.sos.state.ms.us.
  Back to Top Back to Top
Reciprocal/Initial Registration  
1. How long does it take to process applications?
  Once the Mississippi application, Mississippi fees, and the NCARB or CLARB file are received, the process usually takes about 4 weeks.
  Back to Top Back to Top
General  
1. How do I receive a wallet card?
  Wallet cards are no longer provided by this agency. A "Certificate of Standing", which provides the same information as the wallet card, may be printed from the Mississippi State Board of Architecture Web site.
  Back to Top Back to Top
2. How do I update my personal data (i.e., new address, phone number, etc.)?
  To update personal data, access the Mississippi State Board of Architecture Web site, click on 'Roster of Registrants', then 'Update Member Information'. Once the information is entered, it takes 24 hours for the database to be updated. Not all personal data can be updated through this process. For example, to make a name change, you must contact the Board office and supply additional documentation before your record can be updated.
  Back to Top Back to Top
3. When do the Board of Architecture and the Landscape Architecture Advisory Committee meet?
  The Board and the Committee meet quarterly, in January, April, July and October. The Board office may be contacted at 888-272-2627 for specific dates and times.
  Back to Top Back to Top


HOME  ||  Architects: Rules and Law  ||  Landscape Architects: Rules and Law  ||  Interior Designers: Rules and Law

Copyright 2002-2014 The Mississippi State Board of Architecture. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy.