# MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

#### **Board Officers:**

Robert L. Smith, Jr., D.D.S., President Jeff Michael Zimmerman, D.D.S., Vice-President Marion Lewis Grubbs, D.M.D., Secretary



Board Members: Alexis Le'Kia Lampkin, D.M.D. Mark D. Williams, D.M.D. John B. Carlton., D.M.D. David Curtis, D.M.D. Haley Harrison Birmingham, R.D.H.

Denny Hydrick – Executive Director

Telephone: 601-944-9622	Suite 100, 600 East Amite Street	Internet: www.dentalboard.ms.gov
Facsimile: 601-944-9624	Jackson, Mississippi 39201-2801	E-Mail: dental@dentalboard.ms.gov

## MSBDE Board Meeting Agenda April 14, 2023 Public Meeting will begin promptly at 8:30am(CST)

The Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners is a legislatively mandated state regulatory agency charged with the responsibilities of examining, licensing, registering, and regulating the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene to ensure competency (through examination and licensure) and ethics (through registration and regulation) among all dental professionals in the State of Mississippi for the ultimate goal of safeguarding and enhancing the health and welfare of the citizens of this State. As such, the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners is neither affiliated with nor functions as a subsidiary of any private or professional organization.

Public observers are requested to turn off all cell phones prior to entering the MSBDE meeting room. Comments from the public will be entertained solely at the discretion of the President and other Board Members. Public attendees by Zoom are requested to mute microphones. To ask a question, Zoom attendees should submit notice through the Chat feature.

#### Zoom Meeting Link

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87405584669?pwd=Nitpc3FuMURtM3dLVII5Q1RZK0FIZz09

Meeting ID: 874 0558 4669 Passcode: 121051 To contact by phone : dial either number below: +1 305 224 1968 US

+1 309 205 3325 US

## --- OPEN SESSION ---

- 1. Welcome & Introduction of Guests (Smith)
- 2. Roll Call & Determination of a quorum (Grubbs)
- 3. Introduction of New Board Members (Smith)
- 4. Oath of Office (Smith)
- 5. Board Orientation (Mutziger)
- 6. Approval of Meeting Minutes January 13, 2023 & March 31, 2023 (Mutziger)
- 7. Election of Board Officers July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024 (Smith)

- 8. Subcommittee Reports & Updates
  - a. Rules & Regulations (Zimmerman)
    - i. Board Regulation 13 Update (Mutziger)
  - b. Credentialing (Lampkin)
  - c. Legislative (Birmingham)
  - d. Licensure Examination (Williams)
  - e. Practice Act Review (vacant)
  - f. Budget & Finance (Grubbs)
- 9. Request for Approval of Radiology Seminars (Birmingham/Mutziger)
  - a. Delta Tech Horn Lake
  - b. Concorde Southaven
  - c. Delta Tech Ridgeland
  - d. Taylor Dental Assisting School
- 10. Presentation Richael Cobler Executive Director (Hydrick)

Central Regional Dental Testing Service, Inc. (CRDTS)

11. Presentation – Dr. Angela Filzen, D.D.S. (Hydrick)

State Dental Director, Office of Oral Health Mississippi State Department of Health

- 12. Anesthesia Applications (Vaughn)
  - a. Class II Dr. Gerald Favre Pass Christian, MS
- 13. Specialty Applications (Vaughn)
  - a. Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Dr. Oscar Venegas Rebolledo
  - b. Orthodontics
    - i. Dr. Kim Stapleton
    - ii. Dr. Kyla Swearingen
    - iii. Dr. Chaninah Zweihorn
    - iv. Dr. Susan McBeth
  - c. Orofacial Pain Dr. Paul Coleman Riley, Sr.
  - d. Pediatrics Dr. Freddie Wilkes, Jr.

#### 14. Corporate Trade Name Applications (Vaughn)

- a. Lakewood Dental Dr. Cynthia Thompson Batesville, MS
- b. Avalon Smiles Dr. Richard A Williams Brandon, MS
- c. Young Dentistry Dr. Sharon Elise Young Tupelo, MS

- d. Key Dental Group of Pearl, PLLC Dr. Michael Stokes Pearl, MS
- e. Keep on Smiling Pediatric and General Dentistry Dr. Freddie Wilkes, Jr. Southaven, MS
- f. 4D Implant Prosthodontic Center Dr. Firas Mourad Ridgeland, MS
- g. Mississippi Orofacial Pain Specialists Dr. Paul C. Riley, Sr. Ridgeland, MS
- 15. Board Notification Void of Radiology Permit Renewals (Hydrick)
- 16. Board Notification Void of Dental Hygienist License Renewals (Hydrick)
- 17. Board Notification Change of CE Audit (Hydrick)
- **18.** Board Notification- ADA Request for Board input on the development of a National Board Dental Therapy Examination (NBDTE) **(Hydrick)**
- 19. Board Notification DEA Required Training (Hydrick)
- 20. Board Notification FY 2024 Budget approval (Hydrick)
- 21. Board Notification Authorize the Executive Director to consider an RFP for office space FY 2024 (Hydrick)
- 22. Board Determination
  - a. Request for Reinstatement Dental (Vaughn)
    - (i) Dr. David J. Allen
    - (ii) Dr. Timothy Poyadou
  - b. Request for Reinstatement Dental Hygienist (Sims)
    - (i) Heather Allred
    - (ii) Micheal Banks
    - (iii) Susan Martin
    - (iv) Amber Wallis
    - (v) Sheryl Taylor
    - (vi) Micah McGhee
- 23. Board Determination CE Broker (Hydrick)
- 24. Board Determination AADB request for Board to Accept ACE (Hydrick)
- 25. Board Determination ClassMarker online platform for Jurisprudence exam (Hydrick)
- 26. Board Determination Review of Valence MSBDE Licensing Database functionality (Hydrick)
- 27. Financial Report (Hydrick/DeRossette)
- 28. Executive Director's Report (Hydrick)
- 29. Petition for Reinstatement of DEA Dr. Donna Foster (Mutziger)

### --- EXECUTIVE SESSION ---

30. Reasonably Anticipated Litigation

- a. Board Notification NPDB Dispute (Hydrick)
- b. Board Notification Void of Licenses (Hydrick)
- 31. Pending Investigations & Disciplinary Matters (Mutziger/Hardwick/Redmond)
  - a. Remands see Exhibit A
  - b. NPDB Filings see Exhibit B
- 32. Personnel Matters (Hydrick)