Architects – Initial Registration by Exam
Requirements:
NOTE: This application is only for individuals who have completed AXP and the ARE and who are not yet licensed in any jurisdiction. Individuals who are already licensed in another jurisdiction should use the Reciprocal License application.
Applicants must meet the qualifications as specified in Miss. Code Ann. Sections 73-1-13 and 73-1-17 and Rule 2.1. As a summary of qualifications, you must:
- Read the Mississippi Architectural Practice Act and the Rules and Regulations of the Board
- Provide an official record from NCARB documenting completion of the education, experience, and examination requirements
- Have acquired a professional degree in architecture from a NAAB-accredited program
- Have met the experience requirements of AXP in accordance with Rule 1.2
- Have successfully passed the ARE
- Take and pass the Mississippi Jurisprudence Examination. This is an open book examination that should be printed, completed and submitted to the Board.
- Any firm or business through which you practice in Mississippi must meet the qualifications of Section 73-1-19 and Chapter 3 of the Rules and Regulations (refer to the Extract of Laws and Rules for Architectural and A/E Firms)
Important Reminders!
- After 30 minutes of inactivity, your session will expire. Upon expiration, any of the data that you have entered will be lost. Please be mindful of this limit while entering your application.
- Applications will expire after 6 months of no activity. In such cases the individual must reapply.
- Please use proper capitalization. Names and other information will appear just as entered by the user on "Certificates of Standing" and other documents and listings.
- All payments are non-refundable.
Instructions:
- Complete the online application (answer all required questions).
- Error messages will appear in red at the top of the screen.
- Pay the non-refundable application fee of $450.00 by credit card or electronic check. (Non-residents only)
Additional Required Documents:
- Direct NCARB to transmit your full NCARB record to Mississippi.
-
Send the following documents by email to [email protected]:
- The completed Mississippi Jurisprudence Examination.
- If the firm or entity through which you will practice in Mississippi is a professional association, corporation, professional corporation, limited liability company, or professional limited liability company, a copy of the firm’s registration with the Mississippi Secretary of State is required.
Then what?
- Once your application, NCARB record, and a passing Mississippi Jurisprudence Exam are received, as well as any additional information that the Board may request, the review and licensure process will take three to four weeks.
- If additional information is needed, we will contact you via email or by phone.
- If your application is approved, you will receive a notice of licensure via email and postal mail.
The notice will include instructions for the submission of your seal sample, which must be approved prior to the activation of your license.