Department of Public Safety

Public Safety logo

1900 East Woodrow Wilson Dr.
Jackson, MS 39216

(601) 987-1212

The DPS mission is to make Mississippi a safer place by patrolling its roads and highways, keeping drugs off our streets and providing training and funds to law enforcement agencies across Mississippi. The department is made up of eight different offices and 1200 state employees dedicated to the safety of our fellow Mississippians. Some of these offices like the Mississippi Highway Patrol or driver service's bureaus are more familiar to you than others, but they all provide a valuable asset that improves the quality of life for residents. Under the DPS umbrella are offices like the State Crime Lab and State Medical Examiner's Office, the Mississippi Bureau of Investigation, and the Mississippi Department of Homeland Security.